blp shabash 430x45
Inspiring and Supporting Photographers of Australian Birds

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
When posting a new topic, please ensure that you select the correct category for your post in the top drop-down box of the edit window. The default entry is the first category shown on the All Categories page; this is unlikely to be the category that you want. The Category drop-down box will be present if you click the New Topic tab in the Forum menu; if you are viewing a particular category of the Forum and you use the New Topic button in the Category Header section, the drop-down box will not be present, and your new post topic will automatically appear in the category that you are viewing.
How and where to take great bird pictures.
  • Page:

TOPIC:

B.I.F: Dealing with Glare 6 years 9 months ago #1150

• Bruce Terrill
  • Bruce Terrill's Avatar Topic Author
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 47
Hi Guys,
I'm very new to Birds In Flight photography and every outing this year I have had to try and get my head around one singular problem;GLARE. Doesn't matter if it's a lovely sunny day or an overcast day with the sun behind it, it has always been there for me to try and get my head around. What I am, and everyone else of course, dealing with is a singular subject with the rest of the frame being and extremely bright, or glarey day and I can't get my head around the correct settings for an excitable, usable outcome. What I usually end up with is a very dark subject, almost silhouette and the skies are always very nearly blown out highlights on the Histogram. The Histogram gives me one singular column of color and that is right over near the right hand side, close to being blown out. When the picture is put into Lightroom it is unsaveable because the bird, when adjusted through the Highlights and Exposure settings is very streaky and grainy. Now I'm not talking about a bird that was 50-60 meters away either, I had one Whi