blp shabash 430x45
Inspiring and Supporting Photographers of Australian Birds

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
When posting a new topic, please ensure that you select the correct category for your post in the top drop-down box of the edit window. The default entry is the first category shown on the All Categories page; this is unlikely to be the category that you want. The Category drop-down box will be present if you click the New Topic tab in the Forum menu; if you are viewing a particular category of the Forum and you use the New Topic button in the Category Header section, the drop-down box will not be present, and your new post topic will automatically appear in the category that you are viewing.
General discussion areas.
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Photographing Black coloured birds 8 years 2 months ago #407

• Mary Wheeler
  • Mary Wheeler's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 6
As I am relatively new to photography, I would appreciate some advice on what I should consider when setting my camera to photograph a substantially black coloured bird.
I have attempted to photograph a Hooded Robin and the result was a disaster. I have a a Canon 7Dmark11 and the lens is a Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II USM with a 2x converter.
Would it be better to take the converter off so that I can have the aperture set at f/2.8 ? I am hoping to photograph a White-Winged Fairy-Wren ( nominate race) which is mostly black.
Any help would be appreciated. :

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re: Photographing Black coloured birds 8 years 2 months ago #408

• Les Peters
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thank you received: 49
Hi Mary,