blp shabash 430x45
Inspiring and Supporting Photographers of Australian Birds

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
When posting a new topic, please ensure that you select the correct category for your post in the top drop-down box of the edit window. The default entry is the first category shown on the All Categories page; this is unlikely to be the category that you want. The Category drop-down box will be present if you click the New Topic tab in the Forum menu; if you are viewing a particular category of the Forum and you use the New Topic button in the Category Header section, the drop-down box will not be present, and your new post topic will automatically appear in the category that you are viewing.
General discussion areas.
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Camera settings question 3 years 4 months ago #2638

• Andrew McLean
  • Andrew McLean's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all,
I have been a Landscape photographer for several years and have recently ventured in bird photography.
My question regards camera setting, I capture a lot of small birds in dark forest situations like Robins, rosellas, etc.
The only way I get a good exposure is to shoot in manual mode, eg set TV and Av to what I think is appropriate for the
capture then have the ISO on auto. I use a Canon 5D mk4 so It allows exposure compensation to be dialled in with this set up.

I can't see any other way to get a nice exposure when your tracking a bird though various lighting condition.
I could see taking test shots and locking in exposure settings in fixed position would work but working quickly
on the fly not so much.

Is this a common way to capture birds? if not is there another way

Hope this makes sense

Kind regards

Andrew

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Camera settings question 3 years 4 months ago #2639

• Simon Pelling
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 261
Hi Andrew

Excellent discussion point.