blp shabash 430x45
Inspiring and Supporting Photographers of Australian Birds

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
When posting a new topic, please ensure that you select the correct category for your post in the top drop-down box of the edit window. The default entry is the first category shown on the All Categories page; this is unlikely to be the category that you want. The Category drop-down box will be present if you click the New Topic tab in the Forum menu; if you are viewing a particular category of the Forum and you use the New Topic button in the Category Header section, the drop-down box will not be present, and your new post topic will automatically appear in the category that you are viewing.
Discussions about cameras, lenses, accessories, and image-processing.
  • Page:

TOPIC:

DPP 4 post processing 5 years 5 months ago #1956

• Gaynor Robson
  • Gaynor Robson's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm brand new to using DPP 4 and I am trying to put together a crib sheet for the post processing of bird photos mainly based on great information from Glen Pure/Ian Wilson (in newsletters) and also online. I'm just trying to summarize the absolute basics of the process, and the order in which to do them and to show not the "why" but the "what" to do. After DPP4 I'll use Photoshop 6.
Can someone advise me if I have covered the absolute essentials in the process. My eyes glazed over in places where the articles became a bit technical so I might have missed a bit. Thanks. Gaynor

Post Processing in DPP 4 and PS6
1. Open DPP 4, choose raw image from Folder to work on. Turn on highlights/shadow warning (Alt M). Set image to full screen and 100% (bottom left). Swap to Quick Check/Info to see the lens used for the image.
2. Go into Edit Image/Tool Palette working along the rows.
3. Perform Image Lens Correction/ Lens Data to select the lens used for the image.
4. Remove dust
5. Perform Basic Image Adjustment.